Now Playing:

The Midnight Hour

When two of hip-hop’s most accomplished composers get together to make an album you know the results are going to be special. Ali Shaheed Muhammad (A Tribe Called Quest) & Adrian Younge began their work together in 2013 on the critically acclaimed album There Is Only Now and their partnership cemented on their score work for Marvels’ Luke Cage. Today, they are proud to announce the forthcoming release of their carefully constructed and masterful The Midnight Hour. It is the duo’s long awaited album and it showcases their songwriting ability like never before.

Lead track and first single “Questions” featuring CeeLo Green is out today and has an unlikely origin story that CeeLo, Adrian and Ali originally explained to Pitchfork back in 2016, when a demo version of the song appeared as a sample on “untitled 06 | 06.30.2014.” off of Kendrick Lamar’s untitled unmastered. project. The completed track perfectly captures the album’s underlying roots in hip-hop’s origins and can be heard HERE.

The 20 track, full length double album, will be released on Linear Labs and distributed digitally by INgrooves and vinyl will be distributed by Traffic Entertainment, world wide on June 8, 2018.

  1. Black Beacon
  2. 2. Mare feat. LadyBug Mecca
  3. It’s You feat. Raphael Saadiq
  4. Questions feat. CeeLo Green
  5. So Amazing feat. Luther Vandross
  6. Gate 54
  7. Do It Together feat. Bilal
  8. Redneph In B Minor
  9. Better Endeavor
  10. Smiling For Me feat. Karolina
  11. Don’t Keep Me Waiting feat. Marsha Ambrosius
  12. Bitches Do Voodoo feat. Angela Munoz
  13. Possibilities feat. Eryn Allen Kane
  14. Mission
  15. Dans Un Moment D’errance feat. Laetitia Sadier Questlove and Keyon Harrold
  16. Love Is Free feat. Eryn Allen Kane
  17. Together Again feat. No I.D. and James Poyser
  18. Feel Alive feat. Karolina and Loren Oden
  19. There Is No Greater Love feat. Loren Oden and Saudia Yasmein
  20. Ravens

Get the Album



The Midnight Hour Jazz Is Dead: Los Angeles

“Noir” – Black Thought with The Midnight Hour: Produced By Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed (Amazon Music)

ARTFORM Bonus Material | Fender Presents | Fender

ARTFORM with Ali Shaheed Muhammad & Adrian Younge | Fender Presents | Fender

The Midnight Hour LIVE “Mission”

The Midnight Hour LIVE “Redneph In B Minor”

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.